[Chef Watson] Trial #2 :Main – Pork Tenderloin Roasted

This post is about testing recipes created by artificial intelligence, Chef Watson of IBM

 

The long-awaited main course of the first Watson Project has been decided: Roast Pork Tenderloin. Yay! Meat! My friend Chef Mingom offers private dinner party for small groups at his pizzeria, and he often serves pork tenderloin as the main dish. That said, Mingom knows how to cook pork tenderloin to pull out its deliciousness to the utmost. So, this recipe was selected hoping that Chef Watson can transform this dish with enough novelty to wow his customers.
Let’s get started with the peach compote and the sauce that will be poured on top of our pork tenderloin steak.

dire_roasted_pork_loin_with_poached_plums_v
The original recipe is based on ‘Roasted pork loin with poached plums’ of Bon Appetit

Here is the recipe that Chef Watson suggests for roasted pork tenderloin.

ibm-chef-watson_port_1

ibm-chef-watson_pork-tenderloin-2

I skipped the chopped chervil that it is hard to find at the Korean grocery store. Here are the ingredients that I prepared for this recipe.

Let’s get started with the peach comport and the sauce that will be poured on top of pork tenderloin steak.

Peach compote


Ingredients |
1 1/2 cup pisco wine (substitute : red wine), 1 1/4 cup sake, Italian seasoning, poppy seeds, honey

1. Peel out peach skin and remove the pit. Slice the peaches into appropriate size. In my case, I sliced those into size of two thumbs so that I could lay them under the pork tenderloin steak.

2. In a saucepan, add a half cup of peach and red wine, a cup of sake, Italian seasoning (oregano), 1/4 teaspoon of poppy seeds and 1/8 cup of honey. When it starts to boil, reduce the heat and transfer the peaches to another plate.

Dalji :  Here, I found inefficiency in the recipe. The amount of liquids (wine and sake) was too much to make the sauce; it required so much time to reach to the optimal sweetness and stickiness. Maybe I should have replaced pisco with red wine. I’m not familiar with pisco wine, but is it stickier than normal red wine so perhaps it would makes the sauce more quickly.
3. Add finely chopped onions to saucepan and boil for 25 minutes.
Dalji : Here, I wondered why I put chopped onions at the last state of making sauce. Normally, when using onions to create sauce, stir frying them is the first step to use their sweetness through caramelization. 
4. Strain the sauce and add the remaining amount of prepared honey. Season the sauce with salt and pepper. When it’s done, turn off the heat and cool the sauce.

Pork tenderloin


Ingredients | 2 1/2 port tenderloin, 2 minced garlic, salt, pepper,

1. Preheat the oven to 400°F. Apply olive oil to the prepared pork tenderloin and massage the garlic, salt, pepper, and chopped basil.
2. Pour olive oil into oven-proof skillet and sear the skin side of pork in medium heat for about five minutes. Put the pork tenderloin in the preheated oven for 17 minutes.
Dalji : Watson told me to leave the pork in the oven for 20 minutes, but then I reduced it to 17 minutes with the advice of my friend that it would be over cooked.
7d18f491-722c-4ccc-91db-07e414202626
3. Take the pork from the oven and let it rest for 10 minutes at room temperature.
Dalji: Watson told me to leave the pork in the oven for 20 minutes, but I then reduced it to 17 minutes based on the advice from my friend that it would be overcooked.
4. Cut the well-cooked pork tenderloin to 3 cm thickness, put them nicely on the top of the peach compote, and pour the sauce around the pork.
aedde5a9-7a20-4171-90cf-a7e1e623204b

The most nerve-wracking moment: tasting time!

I invited some friends over to taste this computer-made recipe, thinking that nothing makes me embarrassed. Even if I made the rubbish, I can blame Watson for the failure. (I thought that was a really good idea indeed).
So here are my friends’ comments on this dish:
“The original sweet taste and pork match well, so the result is similar to the one I expected from the recipe. But it is a bit plain. The saltiness is needed, which adds a little bit of flavor to the balance.”
At this point, I added some salt to the sauce based on my friend’s advice. Whoa. My friend is indeed a real cook. Savory and sweetness always need to come together; that’s the truth.

 


For those whom it may concern, I’m not related to IBM or Chef Watson. It is my personal interest to test how artificial intelligence decodes the way chefs create recipes and I want to see if this service can be offered to everyone in the near future.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

