[Chef Watson] Trial #10: Curry and Kimchi Chili Con Pollo (chicken)

This post is about testing recipes created by artificial intelligence, Chef Watson of IBM

Who doesn’t like chili and curry on winter days?

This day, my friend brought very shocking, but blissful news (Congratulation new daddy!) So I wanted to celebrate his new start with a comfort dish. I found 2 packs of curry paste on the shelf and one of their shelf life is coming up. Hey, Watson. Please, suggest an interesting recipe using curry, then surprisingly, he suggested chili with curry powder and kimchi. I was a bit scared that Watson knows I’m Korean.

Here’s the Watson’s recipe: Curry Powder Chili Con Carne

Well, I did pilates this day so I changed carne (pork) to chicken breast. That means this dish is Curry powder Chilli Con Pollo (Chicken) and Kimchi.

 

mare_halftime_chili_h
Watson referred Bon Apetit’s Half time Chilli

Recipe and ingredients


9 servings

curry-chille_ingredients
Ingredients in this picture are for 3 servings, but the amount of ingredients in this post is based on 9 servings.
  • 1/2 cup mirin (Japanese alcoholic beverage used for cooking)
  • 2 cup drained, cooked cannellini bean
  • 8 clove chopped garlic
  • 7 cup shelled green peas
  • 4 chopped shallot
  • plum tomato
  • 112 cup kimchi
  • 3 lb (1360g) chicken
  • 3 tbsp ground coriander seed
  • 3 tbsp curry powder (Bought from Japan, I’m also confused if I’m Korean or Japanese since I have tons of Japanese ingredients in my fridge.)
  • ground ginger
  • 12 tsp dried oregano
  • 114 tsp dried rosemary
  • 14 tsp chopped parsley
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 112 cup beef broth(As always, I love Better than Bouillon)

1. Heat olive oil in heavy large dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add chopped shallots and garlic. Saute.

Saute Shallot and garlic

2. Add chicken and saute, then break up chicken using two forks. Cook for about 5 minutes.

breaking up chicken breast with fork

3. Add curry powder, coriander seed, parsley, oregano and rosemary. Stir 2 minutes.

Added parsley and oregano

4. Mix in crushed green peas, plum tomato, beef broth, mirin and kimchi. Simmer stirring occasionally to prevent sticking, about 1 hour 15 minutes.

put green beans, tomato, mirin, beef broth

5. Mix in cannellini beans. Simmer 5 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

added canellini beans
oh, cannellini beans look like silk worms (gross). Need to cover the pot quickly.
Chilli Con Pollo with curry and kimchi
This is a literally melting pot; Japanese curry, Korean Kimchi, and Italian Cannellini beans in the name of Mexican food.

 


Well, this testing went very smoothly, without rushing or missing any ingredients. Though it looks a bit gross (maybe I should’ve covered the top with grated cheese), it was like a completed dish, with various kinds of flavors. I only used 1 tomato, but my friend agreed that I should’ve used 1 more. (I’ll keep that in mind for the next trial,)

completed-plating

From this trial, I’m going to record how much I spent by testing Watson’s recipe.

Here is the shopping list that I used for this dish and each item’s price:

– 1 Tomato: 1,000 won
– 1 can of Cannellini beans: 1,800 won, but I only used half of a can, so really 900 won
– 1 pack of dill: 1,750 won
– 1 pack of parsley: 1,650 won
– 500g (1.1lbs) of Chicken breast: 8,320  won

= Total: 13,620 won (about 11.47 USD)

My friend and I were completely satisfied with the meal’s taste and nutrition. It’s rich in protein (we are both work-out fanatics), and its filling on a small budget!


For those whom it may concern, I’m not related to IBM or Chef Watson. It is my personal interest to test how artificial intelligence decodes the way chefs create recipes and I want to see if this service can be offered to everyone in the near future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

