[Chef Watson] Trial #12: Oats and Meatball Dressing with Apples and Walnuts

This post is about testing recipes created by artificial intelligence, Chef Watson of IBM

Trial #12 is another challenge to test Chef Watson’s ability to suggest alternative ingredients.

Remember that I praised one of Chef Watson’s recipes, [Chef Watson] Trial #9: Glutinous Rice Dressing with Apples, Sweet Potatoes and Dates, stating that as a ‘winning dish’ it could be compared to a women’s winning dress? Well, I wanted to challenge Chef Watson’s algorithm to calculate deliciousness to see if it applies well even if I changed some of the original recipe ingredients. (But the truth is, I really wanted to use up plenty of apples that were in my fridge and I was thinking about finding recipes to use frozen meatballs before they went bad. This recipe was literally for cleaning up the fridge.)

The recipe Chef Watson suggested: Shallot Rice Dish

wild-rice-dressing-with-apples-and-chestnuts-646
This recipe is also based on Bon Apetit’s Wild Rice Dressing With Apples and Chestnuts

 

Recipe and Ingredients


8 Servings
  • 14 cup chopped dill
  • 212 tsp dried thyme
  • 34 cup beef broth (As always, I used Better than Boullion)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 6 oz meatball
  • 12 cup chopped, sliced white mushrooms
  • 1 chopped shallot
  • 14 cup olive oil
  •  Apples
  • 12 cup steel-cut oats

 

ingredients
Ingredients in this picture are for 4 servings. Oh, dill is missing in this picture:-(

 

1.Cook steel-cut oats in large saucepan of salted boiling water. Drain. Cover and chill.

2. Preheat oven to 425 Fahrenheit. Butter a 13 x 9 x 2-inch glass baking dish. Combine cooked steel-cut oats, walnuts, and dill in large bowl.

Cooked oats mixed with chopped walnuts and dill
Cooked oats mixed with chopped walnuts and dill

3. Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add meatballs, shallots and white mushrooms and saute, stirring frequently and breaking up meatballs with a fork, for about 7 minutes.

Dalji: I rejected Chef Watson’s directions to break up meatballs with a fork. If the meatballs were to break up, why didn’t Chef Watson suggest ground meat in the first place? I felt sorry for my meatballs so I couldn’t do that:-(

sautee-ingredients
Saute shallots and meatballs and white mushrooms

4. Add apples and thyme and saute for 5 minutes. Stir in beef broth, scraping up browned bits.

Dalji: I should confess. I didn’t realize it until I was writing this review, so I blamed Chef Watson for suggesting too much thyme at this point. But it was me who got it wrong. I misread the amount of dried thyme in the recipe as ‘2 1/2 tbsp’ but actually, it was ‘2 1/2 tsp’. Oh, my god….

5. Mix the meatball mixture with the steel-cut oats mixture in a bowl; stir to combine. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Transfer the mixture to a prepared baking dish. Bake for about 15 minutes.

Completed dish
Well, this time I just put my Staub dutch oven to the oven.

 

As you can imagine, as I put an excessive amount of thyme in this dish, the flavor of the thyme overpowered the whole dish. Well, it’s my fault so I need to try this Watson’s recipe again to test his algorithm with other variations of alternative ingredients. Being a cook requires many skills, don’t you think? You need to read carefully if the measurement unit is ‘tsp’ or ‘tbsp’. My mom would be angry at Chef Watson if she tried this recipe because my mom is also terrible at reading measurement units in recipes.

My shopping list and expenses for this recipe:

  • A pack of dill: 3,570 won
  • A pack of white mushrooms: 1,300 won

Total : 4,870 won(about 4.07 USD)

Well, I failed to test Chef Watson’s algorithm but saved my grocery bill. haha.


For those whom it may concern, I’m not related to IBM or Chef Watson. It is my personal interest to test how artificial intelligence decodes the way chefs create recipes and I want to see if this service can be offered to everyone in the near future.

Leave a Reply

